top of page


ASSOCIATION FLAME : Futurs  Links  Association  Musicians of  Europe

The Association FLAME was created in 1989 by Patrice Sciortino, composer, and Germaine Tocatlian, piano teacher at the Schola Cantorum in Paris.


The objectives of the competition are to identify, promote and support young talents at the beginning of their career. The FLAME Competition was created in 1990 in order to select pianists, violinists, cellists, violists and singers.


Since June 2022, the presidency of the association and the artistic direction of the competition are assured by Mrs Germaine Tocatlian.

The FLAME Competition has received more than 5000 candidates from 38 countries, and more than 1000 pianists, violinists, violists, and singers from 16 to 32 years old have been rewarded.

In 2001, the FLAME Competition was open to young pianists and violinists from 6 to 16 years old then to cellists in 2012. Over 2000 candidates have taken part in the Competition and they chose the programme to play.

The winners have been and are granted prizes and scholarships to attend, at the Summerakademie of the Mozarteum of Salzburg, Master classes of teachers such as Julius Berger, Gary Hoffman, Harvey Shapiro (cello) ; Jean Fournier, Paul Roczek, Michael Friscenschlager, Igor Ozim, Igor Oistrach (violin) ; Sergio Perticaroli, Karl Heinz Kämmerling (piano), Elio Battaglia, Tom Krause et Ruggiero Raimondi (singing).


The winners are invited to play at concerts in Austria in the framework of the FLAME Festival at the Salzburger Schlosskonzerte and the Leopoldskrone Seminar Center, in Italy in Rome (Tempietto concerts) and in Genoa (Amici di Paganini concerts, Pasquale Anfossi Association concerts), and in France, in Paris, at the Cathedral Sainte-Croix, the American Cathedral, the Schola Cantorum, The Sorbonne, the CNEA, in Normandy, at the Moulin d'Andé, in Burgundy, in the Roussillon Festival of Villers sur Mer.

Among the presidents of the competition juries let us recall for the piano, Gaby Casadesus (France), Suzanne Lipinska (France), Dana Ciocarlie (Romania), Carlo Guaitoli (Italy), George Kern (USA), Olivier Gardon (France), Alexandre Müllenbach (Luxembourg), Sergio Perticaroli (Italy) and Bruno Rigutto (France); for strings, Julius Berger (Germany), Dimitri Chorafas (Greece), Nicole Entremont (France), Jean Fournier (France), Michael Frischenschlager (Austria), Louise Hopkins (England), Luz Leskowitz (Austria), Paul Roczek (Austria); for voice, Viorica Cortez (Romania), Robert Kettelson (USA), Stephen Mudge (England), Carmen Vilalta (Italy), Heng SHI (China).


A large number of winners pursued a national or international career: Eric Artz, David Bismuth, Schaun Choo, Lorène de Ratuld, François Gassion, Yedam Kim, Katia Krivokochenko, Catherine Ordronneau, Tristan Pfaff, Fernando Rossano, Dona Sévène, Vesselin Stanev, Juliana Steinbach, Nathalie Seror among the pianists; Radu Blidar, Marina Chiche, Kai Gleusteen, Julien Szulman, Ching Yun Tu, Vanessa Szigeti, Hildegarde Fesneau among the violonists; Edgard Moreau, Ivan Karizna, Guillaume Martigné, Julien Chappot, Tristan Cornut, Yuki Ito, Jacob Shaw, Charles Watt among the cellists; Gaëlle Arquez, Julie Fuchs, Anna Kasyan, Clara Meloni, Heng Shi, Meredith Hoffmann-Thomson among the singers.


The FLAME Competition has been hosted (in chronological order) by the Austrian Institute, UNESCO, the Gulbenkian Foundation, the Philomuses Association, the Sixteenth District Town-Hall of Paris, the Ile Saint-Louis Theatre, the Schola Cantorum, la cité des Arts. Since 2011 the competition takes place at the CRR of Paris.

The gala concert of the 20th competition was held at the Théâtre Marigny Robert Hossein while the concert of the 30th competition was broadcast live by France Musique in the programme of Clément Rochefort Générations France Musique.


The FLAME Competition has been supported by EDF (1991-1998), UNESCO (1991-2002), the Austrian Institute  (1990-2007), EISAI Foundation (2006-2008), the Sommerakademie of the Mozarteum in Salzburg (since 1991) and Pharnext (2013).

bottom of page